top of page
Featured Posts

A Gorgeous Gallery Wall


IF there’s one design element that has been having a major moment lately, it has to be gallery walls. There's really no better way to display family photos, art and mementos - whether small scale or a floor-to-ceiling statement wall.

Now completing a gallery wall can be a daunting task. Especially with all the designers out there telling us we need to follow all these rules when creating our own gallery wall: matching or mismatched frames? Random or grid pattern? Round or rectangular frames? How many inches apart do all my pieces need to be? Some even say to cut out kraft paper the size of each of your frames so you can make a template on the wall before committing to making nail holes. I mean, this is getting a little complicated, don't your think?EndFragment

I have to admit - I fell for all of this. We had a large wall that was practically begging to become a gallery wall in our home. So a few years ago I decided it was going to happen. I picked up a handful of new frames from a decor store, all similar in colour and some variance in size to display black and white printed photos of our travels. I laid out all the frames in a grid-style pattern on the bed. I moved one here, one there, trying to get the perfect layout for the wall. I did this for about a week. Or two. I seriously stressed over this, measuring the space between frame edges until I was 100% committed to the design.

Armed with a hammer and some nails (and a somewhat irritated husband!), we hung each frame precisely the way I had planned. After all that time spent fussing over the layout - the wall looked absolutely nothing like I had imagined. There was only 1 way to describe it - BORING. No colour. No character. No interest. But after all the time I spent thinking about it - I just left it be. It was on our second floor and no one would really see it anyway, right?

But every time I walked up the stairs - it bugged me. I mean truthfully, there are more important things I should be worrying about, but this was something I could control. Over time, I started to take frames down, move them, replace them with more interesting frames - ones with age, character, shape and carvings. Pops of colour added interest and focus. I found an old school clock - in a beautiful shade of blue with red hands that made its way to the wall. An old Ontario licence plate in a bold blue - marked with the year my husband and I were born was added. I replaced one frame with a vintage car windshield defroster - a perfect replacement for a boring square frame! A pair of old wooden skis leaned against the wall even became part of the design.

My gallery wall is constantly changing - getting updated with unique finds that have meaning or interest, as do the photos of our travels. Try to avoid the formal 'big-box' look of perfectly arranged frames in a set pattern. Make it personal. Add letters, mirrors, old signs and salvaged architectural elements to give your wall lots of variety. Create a gallery wall that is a bit eclectic - not structured.

Here are some ideas to make your gallery wall unique and one-of-a-kind!

Creative gallery wall with hints of Duck Egg Blue Chalk Paint (decoist)

Display a variety of frames of varying sizes and play with colour to build interest.

An eclectic and colourful gallery wall (theinspiredroom.net)

Larger pieces can be surrounded by smaller accent pieces. Using a mix of shapes and sizes that vary in direction creates horizontal and vertical elements.

A bathroom gallery wall (dishfunctionaldesigns.blogspot)

A gallery wall can be in any room of the house - including the bathroom. This one sports unique vintage finds and a beautifully freckled antique mirror.

Unique elements make up this wall display (BHG)

Include handmade art and real-wood elements to your arrangement. If a piece of furniture is below your gallery, include items that sit on it as part of your design. This adds a touch of unexpected to your display.

Colour prints and art decorate this gallery wall (herwworld.co)

Bold colours make this full-wall gallery a statement in an office.

A well designed gallery wall (too-much-time)

A structured gallery wall (left) is contrasted by a more eclectic design of new and old elements. Notice how the hall table becomes part of the display? Love it!

Hope that gives you some ideas of how your gallery wall can be unique and a reflection of you and your personality. Now don't over-think it and just do it!

Good luck!

Cheers,

Mandy


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Pinterest Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page